Recetas tenebrosas para este Halloween
Halloween y Día de Muertos

Recetas tenebrosas para este Halloween

Por Kiwilimón - Octubre 2011
  Día de muertos o Halloween se acerca y el ambiente comienza a sentirse, donde las máscaras, los arreglos o adornos, las frutas y diferentes tipos de comida de la temporada se hacen presentes. Ante esto, hemos recopilado las recetas más tenebrosas y deliciosas que puedes preparar para estas fechas de Halloween o Día de Muertos:
Califica esta receta
Calificaciones (0)
Sé el primero en dar una calificación
PUBLICIDAD
Lo mas leído
Leer en españolIn recent years, a lot of people have said goodbye to foods with gluten, regardless of whether they suffer from celiac disease or not, because of all the negative information around this substance. Keep reading to find out more about the myths and facts of this protein so that you can choose wisely whether you hop on the gluten-free diet or not. What Is Gluten? Gluten is a protein that is contained in many kinds of cereal, like wheat, barley, and rye, as well as foods like pasta, bread, pizza, and soy sauce, among others. Those with celiac disease cannot eat food with gluten because it causes them swelling, intestinal damage, and other reactions in their bodies. Who Should Follow a Gluten-Free Diet? According to Harvard’s School of Medicine, those who must avoid food with gluten are the ones who suffer from celiac disease as it is fundamental to stay healthy.On the other hand, some people might not be allergic to gluten but are gluten intolerant. These people show symptoms like inflammation, diarrhea, and stomachaches when they eat food with this protein.Therefore, there are two groups of people who should stick to a gluten-free diet: Those with celiac disease and those who show pain or discomfort after eating food with gluten. In any case, it is best to seek medical advice to determine whether someone can eat gluten or not. What Is Wrong with Gluten?According to experts, gluten is not so bad, as there is no current scientific research that shows that eating gluten-free foods will improve someone’s health or will help prevent several diseases.Is It Wrong to Stop Eating Gluten?Although this kind of diet has multiple health benefits for certain people, not eating gluten could harm your health because these foods contain vitamins and minerals like iron and folic acid. In addition to this, experts from Harvard University assert that gluten-free food contains more sugar and fat and less fiber. Moreover, recent studies point out that those who follow gluten-free meal plans gain weight.The Health Benefits of Gluten Even though it has become a trend to eat gluten-free foods, which are more expensive, scientific studies have confirmed the health benefits of gluten. A study published in 2017, that included 100,000 people non-allergic to gluten, found no evidence that a diet with gluten was linked to heart diseases. On the contrary, the study asserts that those who do not eat food with gluten have a higher risk of heart diseases.On top of that, several studies have linked eating cereal to better health. Those who eat more whole grains are less likely to develop type 2 diabetes, strokes, and other heart diseases.Now that you know gluten is not as bad as it seems, and if you are sure that you suffer from celiac disease or are gluten-intolerant, then you should avoid this protein. In this case, it is best to seek expert advice and to keep a healthy diet rich in vegetables, fruits, protein, legumes, grains, nuts, and animal protein, as well as gluten-free foods, like quinoa, brown rice, amaranth, maize, oats, and buckwheat. Read more: The Surprising Benefits of Cabbage Gluten-Free Recipes Kiwilimón cares about your health, which is why we have a wide selection of gluten-free recipes for any occasion. You must try them!Gluten-free desserts Gluten-free bread Gluten-free recipes Gluten-free sidesTranslated by Miranda Perea
Leer en españolThree kings cake is a delicious pan dulce eaten in Mexico and other countries on January 6th in line with the celebrations for Día de Reyes, or the Epiphany. In Mexico, rosca de reyes is often paired with beverages like hot chocolate, atole, café de olla, or champurrado.At kiwilimón, we share with you the story of this traditional bread for, according to experts, there are similar varieties in countries like the United States, France, Switzerland, Spain, and Belgium.What Is the Meaning of the Three Kings Cake?The three kings cake is consumed on January 6th after Melchior, Caspar, and Balthazar bring gifts to children. This type of bread is often paired with hot drinks. The most exciting part of this tradition is that, once they slice the rosca de reyes, people may find a plastic figurine representing Baby Jesus.This fluffy bread tastes like vanilla or orange and is covered with butter crusts, fruit paste, figs, and maraschino cherries. However, nowadays there is a wide variety of three kings cake filled with cream cheese, chocolate, hazelnut chocolate cream, jam, and more.Regarding its meaning, this bread has an oval or round shape because “it means that the love of God has no end”, that is, it has no beginning and no end, according to information published by Mexico’s Agrifood and Fisheries Information Service.Inside the rosca de reyes, we can find several Baby Jesus plastic figurines, however, this represents one of the bloodiest episodes in the Bible: the massacre of children upon order of King Herod. Little children figurines are hidden in the bread as though they were being protected. According to tradition, once one or several people find a plastic figurine, they are obliged to prepare or buy tamales for Candlemas, which is celebrated on February 2nd. The Origins of the Three Kings CakeThis traditional bread is a classic and is one of the favorite celebrations among people of all ages, however, this tradition is not from Mexico. Rosca de reyes began being prepared in several European countries during the Middle Ages, but it arrived in Mexico after the Spanish colonization. More than 100 years later, there are all sorts of roscas de reyes.Keep reading to learn about two of the main precedents of the Mexican Three Kings Cake: France’s galette des rois and Spain's roscón de reyes.Galette des RoisThis delicious three kings cake was created in France during the 16th century. It is available since mid-December, but it is traditionally eaten on January 6th for the Epiphany or even during the whole month.Traditional galette des rois is prepared with puff pastry and is filled with frangipane, a sweet filling made with pastry cream and almond cream. The funniest part of this celebration is that the person who finds the porcelain figure hidden inside the galette des rois will wear a cardboard crown and will be named king or queen for a day. Roscón de ReyesThis Spanish version of the three kings cake is related to the Roman Saturnalia, a series of celebrations in honor of god Saturn. Back then, people prepared a special sweet bread. Later on, the Spanish, just like the French, began hiding a fava bean inside the roscón; the kid who finds it becomes king for one day.Contrary to the galette des rois, Spanish roscón de reyes is pretty similar to the rosca de reyes eaten in Mexico. Roscón de reyes is round and is garnished with candied fruits and is sometimes filled with cream or other sweet fillings.Translated by Miranda Perea
Leer en españolOne stroke, one grape, and one wish is a New Year tradition that has become one of the most popular good luck rituals due to all the things it represents. Even considered magical by some, this ritual is performed at midnight when the number 12 is repeated: 12 strokes, 12 o’clock, 12 months, 12 grapes, 12 wishes. Just like some people believe that taking empty suitcases around the block will ensure a lot of traveling during the new year, others are convinced that eating grapes at the stroke of midnight will guarantee a year with goals and wishful thinking for the new period that begins. Moreover, it adds a bit of adrenaline and fun to the night to find out who can follow the pace of the strokes while eating the 12 grapes.However, this tradition, which is highly popular in Latin America, is actually from Spain. According to the book Spain by journalist Jeff Koehler, the origin of this good luck ritual has two possible theories: One located in the 19th century and the other in the early 20th century.The first hypothesis asserts that the Spanish bourgeois wanted to do as their French counterparts, whose New Year’s Eve celebration involved eating grapes and drinking sparkling wine.The tradition then passed on to people in Madrid, who went to the Puerta del Sol to listen to the strokes at midnight and to eat grapes, like the wealthy, but with irony and mockery.The second hypothesis mentions that farmers in Aledo, Alicante had a surplus of harvested white grapes and decided to sell them at a low price.Nowadays, these grapes are so famous that they are known as “good luck grapes” and they are even sold in Aledo in 12-piece special packages to welcome the New Year. Kick-starting the year with good wishes is always a great way to get inspired and manifest prosperity for the new cycle that begins. Whether you eat grapes or not, New Year’s Eve is always a day full of optimism that we want to share with you with these 12 tips to welcome the new year.Translated by Miranda Perea
En los últimos años, muchas personas han comenzado a buscar alternativas para reemplazar la azúcar refinada, especialmente ahora que enfermedades como la diabetes y la obesidad comenzaron a afectar a una gran parte de la población. Ahora podemos encontrar alternativas como fruta del monje, estevia, azúcar de coco y miel de agave, aunque este último es quizás el que más ha ganado popularidad, pues se cree que es 100% natural y que no daña nuestra salud, sin embargo, ¿qué tan saludable es el néctar de agave? ¡Aquí te contamos todo lo que tienes que saber sobre este ingrediente!¿Qué es la miel de agave?La miel de agave, también conocida como néctar, es un endulzante líquido que se obtiene del agave o maguey, la planta que también se utiliza para producir tequila. Este néctar tiene un color ámbar y suele ser más dulce que la miel y otros endulzantes, por lo que se requiere una cantidad menor para cocinar. A diferencia de la miel de abeja, este derivado del agave es una opción 100% vegana. También puedes leer: Los beneficios de sustituir el azúcar por monk fruit¿Es bueno comer miel de agave?Aunque las opiniones están divididas sobre este ingrediente de origen mexicano, la Escuela de Medicina de la Universidad de Harvard señala que “en el caso de la miel de agave, hay una diferencia en la manera en el que el cuerpo la procesa a comparación del azúcar de mesa. La miel de agave es mayormente fructuosa, la cual no incrementa los niveles de azúcar (glucosa) en la sangre de manera directa. En cambio, la fructuosa se va al hígado para convertirse en glucosa”. Adicionalmente, una investigación publicada en 2014 estudió los efectos de la miel de maguey en un grupo de ratones. Los resultados indican que este endulzante de origen mexicano podría ser una opción saludable a comparación del azúcar de mesa, pues los ratones que consumieron agave tenían niveles de glucosa menores y subieron menos de peso que aquellos que consumieron azúcar refinada. A pesar de estos resultados, aún faltan más estudios para confirmar los beneficios de la miel de agave. La institución también señala que “consumir demasiada fructuosa puede causar que el hígado comience a producir grasa en forma de triglicéridos. Los niveles crónicamente altos de triglicéridos aumentan en riesgo de padecer diabetes o enfermedades del corazón”. Por lo tanto, los expertos de la universidad concluyen que no importa el tipo de azúcar que uses, pues lo “importante es limitar la cantidad total de azúcar añadida en tu dieta”. También puedes leer: 5 formas naturales de mantener tus índices de azúcar bajosLos beneficios de consumir miel de agaveSegún el portal WebMD, jarabe de agave es rico en las siguientes vitaminas:Vitamina B2Vitamina B6Vitamina B9Vitamina KLa miel de maguey tiene un índice glucémico bajoDe acuerdo con los expertos, la miel de agave tiene un índice glucémico bajo a comparación del azúcar, por lo que puede ser una opción para las personas con diabetes o para quienes buscan reducir su consumo de azúcar. Recuerda que antes de introducir alimentos a tu dieta deberás consultar a tu médico de cabecera.Razones para limitar el consumo de la miel de agaveTienes más calorías que el azúcar de mesa.El consumo excesivo de fructuosa tiene consecuencias severas en la salud, por lo que no es de todo recomendable para las personas que padecen diabetes.Aunque la miel de agave tiene un índice glucémico bajo, no es una opción 100% saludable, por lo que te recomendamos acudir a un profesional de la salud antes de incorporarla en tu dieta.
NEWSLETTER
Suscribirme al Newsletter
PUBLICIDAD
PUBLICIDAD